• Email Me

    You can contact me at: jaconnair@gmail.com

Because I Love You All: Hot Fudge Pudding-Cake

My older sister is going to throw a hissy when she hears that we had this for dessert and she didn’t get any, because this is one of her favorite desserts of all time.  But I don’t know what I can do about it:  she lives an hour away, and this stuff needs to be eaten warm.  So I’ll just share the recipe with you, my loyal readers.  Prepare yourselves for a taste of heaven!

Hot Fudge Pudding-Cake

Base layer:

1 cup all-purpose flour

2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

3/4 cup granulated sugar

2 Tbsp. cocoa powder (sift to remove lumps)

1/2 cup milk

2 Tbsp. cooking oil

1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)



1 cup dark brown sugar, packed

1/4 cup cocoa powder (sifted)


You will also need 1 3/4 cups boiling water.


Preheat your oven to 350 (325 if using a dark coated pan).


Blend flour, baking powder, salt, gran. sugar, and 2 Tbsp. cocoa powder together in a bowl.  Add milk, oil, and (if desired) nuts.  Spread this mixture in a 9″ square pan.  No need to grease the pan.

In a small bowl, blend together brown sugar and 1/4 cup cocoa powder.  Sprinkle this mixture over the top of the batter in the pan.  Pour 1 3/4 cups boiling water over this whole deal.  It will look like this:


Mind you, I made 1 1/2 times the original recipe I’m giving here, because I have 5 kids, so the picture shows a 9″ x 13″ pan.  Yours should be about 2/3 this size if you are making the recipe as given.

Now carefully slide this into your hot oven and bake for 45 min.  It will look like this when you remove it from the oven:


Let this cool about half an hour before serving.  You want it to be nice and warm, but not mouth-burningly hot.  Scoop out a nice big portion and flip it over in a bowl.  Now you’ll see that magically, as the recipe baked, it developed a fudge pudding layer on the bottom and a cakey layer on top.  That’s why it’s called “pudding-cake.”  See?



Note that the proper way to eat this baby is to slather it in vanilla ice cream.  Believe me, it is worth every calorie.  And generally speaking, I am a vanilla person, not a chocolate person, so that’s saying something.  Same goes for my son Ryan, who pretty much licked his bowl clean tonight.

You can thank me later.  Right now, I need to go workout!


P.S.:  We tried PW’s “Marlboro Man’s Favorite Sandwich” tonight.  Got 4 stars, but we all thought it needed a little less of the worcestershire sauce and a little more beef broth or bouillon instead.  Otherwise, primo stuff!

6 Responses

  1. You bad, bad, bad girl !

  2. ohh my – this looks sooooo yummy- but….noooooo – I’m on a new years diet. What are you doing to me- LOL

  3. I am sooooo drooling right now, I could eat that for breakfast. I might just have to lick the screen.

  4. You Connairs suck. You’re all fit and trim and stuff yourself with sweets! Life just isn’t fair :-[ That looks delish, of course!

  5. This looks so gooood!!! Have to try it! TFS

  6. OMG this cake looks do stinkin good!! thatnks for sharing it now my arsh will be bigger hahahahhaha

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

